Meeting Minutes – May 30, 2015

September 1, 2016 in Midtown Square Meeting Minutes

Midtown Square Homeowner’s Association Special Board Meeting held on May 30, 2015

Board members present:  Todd Woodell, Tina Velasquez, Joe Rarick, Janet Larson, Kim Batton, and Suzanne Bankhead.  A quorum was established.

Meeting held at the Rarick home

Meeting called to order at 10:00 a.m.

No committee reports

No old business

New business:

The main purpose of this meeting is to discuss changes and position assignments to the Architectural Committee and ensure that the architectural change approval processes are clearly established and followed by the Board.

The prior Architectural Committee Chair resigned, leaving the position vacant.  The remaining Board members nominated Mindy Wood to act as Chair for the rest of the term.

The Board determined that a potential clarification of the Bylaws governing the Architectural Committee is necessary.  Per section 10.4 of the CC&R’s, “the vote of two (2) members of the Architectural Committee taken without a meeting, shall constitute an act of the Architectural Committee.”  The issue arose as a result of an Architectural Committee member submitting for personal architectural change approval.  The Board agreed that going forward, approvals should be voted on by three members of the Architectural Committee.  The Board also agreed that an Architectural Committee member cannot be one of the three members approving their own change requests.  The Board agreed that in an instance where only three members of the Architectural Committee are available and one is the submitting homeowner, any additional member of the Board can approve/deny architectural changes with the remaining non-interested member of the Committee.

Meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.